Singing Bowls and Chakras

Singing Bowls and Chakras

Chakras are energy centres in the body according to esoteric traditions. In the Hindu tradition, there are 7 primary energy centres that are part of the subtle body, which start from the base of the spine and extend towards the crown of the head. Each chakra is linked to its own subtle element, seed syllable, sound, colour, etc. A brief description of each chakra along with its associated musical note is given below:

1. Crown Chakra (B): This is located at the crown of one's head and represents the highest state of consciousness that human beings can experience. It is the connection to our spiritual selves and our path to achieving our true Buddha nature.

2. Third Eye Chakra (A): Located on the forehead and between the eyebrows, the third eye chakra represents one's intuition and perception of self and the world. It enables people to accumulate wisdom and an understanding of themselves and the world they see.

3. Throat Chakra (G): This is located at the throat and allows for energy to flow between the body and head. Opening up the throat chakra enables one to communicate and express themselves freely.

4. Heart Chakra (F): The heart chakra is located at the centre of the chest area and fosters one's ability to love and be loved. When the heart chakra is open, one allows themselves to build love and compassion for others, and for self.

5. Solar Plexus Chakra (E): Located between the navel and diaphragm, the solar plexus chakra represents the core of one's identity and is the center of our willpower. When energy flows through this chakra, one is at ease with themselves and feels confident in being able to move forward.

6. Sacral Chakra (D): The sacral chakra is located at the centre of the lower belly and allows one to enjoy the pleasures in life. Energy flowing through here governs one's creativity, trust, sexuality and life force energy.

7. Root Chakra (C): The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and gives us the grounding which allows us to get on with life. It is associated with safety, security, survival and gives us the foundation to feel connected with the earth.

Tibetan singing bowls have been long used to help people relax and to correct chakra imbalances. Even a set of two bowls (one large with a low sound and another smaller bowl with a higher sound) can be used to work the upper and lower chakras.

 Chakras drawing


Take the quiz: Yoga Journal has published a chakra imbalance quiz which you access here.

Looking to Buy Your First Singing Bowl?

Read our guide here on Choosing My First Singing Bowl

Back to blog